Referee Angus Gardner acknowledged that he got the wrong "handle" decision of Owen Farrell



[ad_1]

There was no weapons of controversy that was handled by Britain's Owen Farrell, left, to Andre Esterhuizen from South Africa.

AP

There was no weapons of controversy that was handled by Britain's Owen Farrell, left, to Andre Esterhuizen from South Africa.

Referee Angus Gardner admitted he should have punished England back Owen Farrell for "no weapons" approaching full time against South Africa earlier this month.

England won their first match of the 12-11 international series, but South Africa lost the chance to clinch the match when Gardner decided not to punish Farrell for his blow to Andre Esterhuizen.

Farrell was involved in a similar controversy on Sunday when he escaped a penalty for being hit in the Wallabies key Izaak Rodda, again without the arm being used, in a test at Twickenham.

Gardner reviews Esterhuizen on the big screen at Twickenham and decides that no offense has been committed. If he has punished Farrell then the Springboks will have a kick on goal to win the match, Daily Telegraph reported.

READ MORE MORE:
* Clean up your actions, Farrell
* Cheika is angry at Farrell's accusation
* Farrell hits "bad for rugby"

* There is no reason for Farrell to overcome

South Africa is disappointed with Gardner's decision and his comment now that he realizes that he made the wrong call might not ease him.

The Springbok Center Andre Esterhuizen crashed into the Twickenham area after being beaten by Owen Farrell of England.

AP

The Springbok Center Andre Esterhuizen crashed into the Twickenham area after being beaten by Owen Farrell of England.

"I think behind now, after discussing it with several other referees … I think the general consensus is that the punishment might be the result there should be given," Gardner told Rupert Cox. Sky Sports& # 39; ll be a Greenwood podcast.

"I think we need to see the wrap with both hands, and I think in the back – even though he's stuck – there's no wrapper big enough from both arms, really. There is a wrap with one hand, but there's no wrap with the other arm."

The Wallabies accused Owen Farrell of carrying out a shoulder attack on Izack Rodda at Twickenham on Sunday (NZT).

AND MULLAN / GETTY IMAGES

The Wallabies accused Owen Farrell of carrying out a shoulder attack on Izack Rodda at Twickenham on Sunday (NZT).

Gardner said he only saw front corners that did not clarify whether Farrell had wrapped his arms in a tackle.

Gardner was named the referee this year at the World Rugby Awards in Monte Carlo on Monday NZT.

[ad_2]

Source link