Saturday , March 28 2020
Home / india / Gayle, Malinga missed the draft of The Hundred

Gayle, Malinga missed the draft of The Hundred

The experienced T20 pair from Chris Gayle and Lasith Malinga were not picked up by any team in the inaugural player draft for the new ECB competition.

Both have set base prices at a maximum of £ 125,000, along with Mitchell Starc, Steve Smith, David Warner, and Kagiso Rabada, which means that they must buy in the first round of the draft. But while the Australian trio were all taken – Starc and Smith by Welsh Fire, and Warner by Southern Brave – Malinga, Gayle and Rabada all were not sold.

The first choice of the design fell to Trent Rockets, who chose No.1 at MRF Tires T20I Bowling Rankings, Rashid Khan. Other players who entered the first round were Andre Russell (Southern Brave), Aaron Finch, Mujeeb Ur Rahman (both North Superchargers), Sunil Narine (Oval Invincibles), Imran Tahir, Dane Vilas (both Manchester Originals), Glenn Maxwell (both Manchester Manchester) Originals) London Spirit, and Liam Livingstone (Birmingham Phoenix).

Hundreds of drafts were held with much fanfare

Hundreds of drafts were held with much fanfare

Other big names included in the design include Sandeep Lamichhane (Oval Invincibles), Mohammad Nabi, Mohammad Amir (both London Spirit), and Nathan Coulter-Nile (Trent Rockets). But with so many players entering themselves into the draft it is inevitable that many excellent players will not be chosen. Babar Azam, No.1 in T20I Batting Rankings, was not sold before the reserve price of £ 75,000 passed and therefore would not play a part in the tournament. Also behind were Kieron Pollard, Dwayne Bravo, Quinton de Kock, and Tamim Iqbal.

During the event each team also announced a new signing for the women's competition: Sophie Devine (Birmingham Phoenix), Tammy Beaumont (London Spirit), Lizelle Lee (Manchester Originals), Alyssa Healy (North Superchargers), Dane van Niekerk (Oval Invincibles) , Suzie Bates (Southern Brave), Sophie Molineux (Trent Rockets), and Meg Lanning (Welsh Fire).

Source link