Toni Collette, Ethan Hawke & Others – / Film


Gotham Awards 2018

28th Annual Gotham Award last night, offering our first glimpse at a big award event as we drove towards the next Academy Awards ceremony. The Gotham Awards focus on independent films, but many previous winners have gone on to take home Oscar gold (Exit and Call Me With Your Name was the big winner last year).

This year, Chloe Zhao's western drama Driver take home the Best Feature prize in a very competitive category, and Toni Collette and Ethan Hawke win in the main acting category for their amazing work at Hereditary and First Reformed, each. Grade eight also won big trophies, got trophies for actresses Elsie Fisher and director Bo Burnham. Read the complete list of winners below.

The Gotham Awards are the first big stop on a long and winding road to the Academy Awards, and in recent years they have become a good gauge of films that might end up winning an Oscar. The winner of Gotham likes it Moonlight, Spotlight, and Birdman all went to bring home Best Picture.

Here's the complete list of winners (via Variety):

Winner of the 2018 Gotham Awards

The best feature
"The Favorite" (Fox Searchlight Pictures)
"First Reformed" (A24)
"If Beale Street Can Speak" (Annapurna Pictures)
"Madeline Madeline" (Oscilloscope Laboratories)
"The Rider" (Sony Pictures Classics) – WINNER

Best Actor
Adam Driver in "BlacKkKlansman" (Focus Feature)
Ben Foster at "Leave No Trace" (Bleecker Street)
Richard E. Grant in "Can You Ever Forgive Me?" (Fox Searchlight Pictures)
Ethan Hawke in "First Reformed" (A24) – WINNER
Lakeith Stanfield on "Sorry to Interrupt You" (Annapurna Pictures)

Best actress
Glenn Close on "The Wife" (Sony Pictures Classics)
Toni Collette in "Hereditary" (A24) – WINNER
Kathryn Hahn in "Personal Life" (Netflix)
Regina Hall at "Support the Girls" (Magnolia Image)
Michelle Pfeiffer on "Where is Kyra?" (Paladin and Great Point Media)

Breakthrough Actor
Yalitza Aparicio in "Rome" (Netflix)
Elsie Fisher on "Eighth Grade" (A24) – WINNER
Helena Howard in "Madeline & # 39; s Madeline" (Oscilloscope Laboratories)
KiKi Layne on "If Beale Street Could Talk" (Annapurna Pictures)
Thomasin Harcourt McKenzie in "Leave No Trace" (Bleecker Street)

Director's Award Bingham Ray Breakthrough
Ari Aster for "Hereditary" (A24)
Bo Burnham for "Eighth Grade" (A24) – WINNER
Jennifer Fox for "The Tale" (HBO)
Moselle Crystal for "Skate Kitchen" (Magnolia Image)
Boot Riley for "Sorry to Bother You" (Annapurna Pictures)

Breakthrough Series – Long Form
"Alias ​​Grace," (Netflix)
"End of F *** ing World," (Netflix)
"Kill Eve" (BBC America) – WINNER
"Pose" (FX Network)
"Sharp objects," (HBO)

Breakthrough Series – Short Form
"195 Lewis" – WINNER
"Daze Cleaner"
"Words F"
"He is a Ticket"

Best scenario
"The Favorite," Deborah Davis and Tony McNamara (Fox Searchlight Pictures)
"First Reformed," Paul Schrader (A24) – WINNER
"Personal life," Tamara Jenkins (Netflix)
"Support Girls," Andrew Bujalski (Magnolia Picture)
"Horse Racing," Cory Finley (Focus Feature)

Best documentary
"Bisbee ‘17" (4th Row Movie)
"Hale County This Morning, Tonight" (The Cinema Guild) – WINNERS
"Minding the Gap" (Hulu & Magnolia Pictures)
"Shirkers" (Netflix)
"Will You Not Be My Neighbor?" (Focus feature)

Jury Award for Ensemble Performance
Rachel Weisz, Olivia Colman, and Emma Stone in "The Favorite" – WINNERS

Audience Award
"Will You Not Be My Neighbor?" – WINNERS

Will the winners of this new contest give more acceptance speeches when the award season continues? I will not be a little surprised to see You Won't Be My Neighbor keep rolling, but temporarily Driver can be nominated for the Best Picture at the Oscars, just face it: it's a long shot to win there.

Personally, I am pleased to see Toni Collette and Ethan Hawke recognized as two top-level acting performances this year, and I would like to see one or both of them stand on stage at the Dolby Theater in February. Winning the Gotham Award may be the builder of the momentum they need to make it happen throughout the award season to the biggest stage of the year.

Cool Posts From All Web:


Source link