I summoned Farrell wrongly



[ad_1]

Referee Angus Gardner admitted that he should have punished England's Owen Farrell for his controversial tackle at the center of Bok André Esterhuizen.

Gardner was involved in the Exams between England and South Africa at Twickenham on November 3, where he chose not to punish Farrell for the shoulder costs of Esterhuizen after the hooter.

Gardner, who was called the World Referee of the Year on Sunday, has admitted that he made a mistake.

"I think behind now, after discussing it with several other referees … I think the general consensus is that punishment may be the outcome that should be given," Gardner admitted to Will Greenwood podcast.

"I think we need to see the wrap with both hands, and I think in the back, even though he is pinned, there is no wrapper big enough from both arms, really. There is a wrap with one hand, but no wrapper with the other.

Gardner also tried to explain why he saw it differently in real time.

Sudut The angles that I see with TMO, which is a head-on angle, show a clear front arm wrap, but that is a pinned rear arm.

& # 39; From the angles I showed at the stadium at that time, which seemed to me enough to wrap for me was a legal effort.

"It was never high, and all we saw was a coping technique. The collision itself also shook my decision because it was a big rugby collision, and we saw these hits in the game."

Full story

Photo: Facundo Arrizabalaga / EPA

[ad_2]

Source link